MKMMA Week 7 – “Weeding the Mental Garden”

beautiful garden

The foundation has been laid, the soil has been tilled, the seeds have been planted, the flowers are beginning to bloom. Now the real work begins! I love seeking truth! This week we have the daunting task of going on a “mental diet,” as in not entertaining a single negative thought for more than 6 seconds.  It helps me to think of my mind as a garden. I dwell on positive thoughts, seeds that will manifest into beautiful flowers. I become aware of negative thoughts (weeds) and dismiss them as quickly as possible, plucking them from my mind before they are able to take root and choke out the flowers that are beginning to blossom.

It is frightening yet liberating all at the same time to entertain the thought that everything in my life today – the state of my body, the state of my fortune, the state of my home, the present condition of every phase of my life – is entirely conditioned by the thoughts and feelings which I have entertained in the past, by the habitual tone of my past thinking??? I choose my life, all the conditions of my life, when I choose the thoughts upon which I allow my mind to dwell, according to Emmet Fox’s “The Seven Day Mental Diet?” He goes on to say that thought is the real causative force in life, and there is no other.

I think about how much money and how much effort goes into physical dieting in this country and how much emphasis is put on the state of our body. I can only speak for myself, but until this week, I really had no idea how unhealthy my thoughts can be. Considering the statements above about our thoughts essentially causing every detail of our current existence, what we think about really ought to be our highest priority. I want my mental garden to be vibrant, beautifully manicured and free of weeds, but tending to my mental garden is going to be a full-time job for a while.

I have practiced as a weight loss coach for many years. Changing the food that we choose to put in our bodies is elementary compared to this challenge of choosing to only entertaining positive thoughts for seven days. We eat only 3-5 times per day, but our thoughts are CONSTANTLY on autoplay! We have an adversary and his number one priority is to embed destructive thoughts into our minds. The mind is his playground. If we can learn to shield ourselves from these attacks, his power in our lives will be essentially diminished! I have had to start over many times over this past week, but I have discovered some tools to combat the negative thoughts that try to enter my consciousness throughout the day. What has worked best for me is having a “go-to” positive song that I can recall to memory in an instant if a negative thought tries to take root. I play a You Tube video of the song over several times, and study the lyrics until I can easily repeat it and replay the melody in my mind. Choosing a worship song like this one https://youtu.be/EcFTtu5kJpk helps me set my mind on Jesus and the things that are above. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. [Romans 12:2]

I know I have some work to do, but I am thankful I am better off than I was at this time last week, and I am looking forward to the extraordinary changes that will inevitably begin to take place as the seeds of positive thought continue to take root and blossom uninhibited by any weeds.

15 thoughts on “MKMMA Week 7 – “Weeding the Mental Garden””

  1. I LOVE the analogy of the garden Sara!! Well said! Who wants a weedy garden? My husband loves to landscape and it takes a LOT of work! I will start having that visual as I “mentally weed”. Have a great week!

    Like

  2. Thank you Sara for sharing your thoughts and also including a link to a tool you found helpful. Perhaps others will find it helpful as well. Weeding any garden, including your mental garden, takes persistence but if you stay persistent, then the garden grows large enough to block out the weeds. You’re doing great!

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on Master Key Lori E and commented:
    I just love Sara Wennerlind, a friend and fellow 2015 MKMMA member…she has a special place in my heart. We share many of the same passions and have both helped numerous people over the past few years improve their health and lose weight. I LOVED her blog last week about the Mental Diet….so I decided to share it with my readers as well. Besides being a very insightful person, you will see…..Sara is an amazing writer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

